My thoughts on reverse hair washing

I’m not sure if I’m behind the trend (more than likely) or if this phase is only just surfacing on a mainstream level: reverse hair washing.

Condition –> Shampoo –> Rinse

The theory goes that you get the nourishment from the conditioner but by using the shampoo second any residue is removed – leaving you with light and glossy locks.

Yesterday and today I reversed my shower routine. All in all the process didn’t take longer than my standard 12 minute shower, I just had to concentrate on doing it in the new order.

Styling process was the same too; comb through wet hair, towel dry, add Argan Oil from the nape of my neck to the ends, blow dry with a big barrel brush.

By the end of the first day, I wasn’t convinced. Halfway through the afternoon it looked limp and lifeless, so much so I stuck it in a ponytail and forgot about it.

I thought I might have been a little timid with the shampoo (not wanting to create a massive frizz) so this morning I thought ‘to hell with it’ and was far more vigorous. The result? Much better!

Getting a comb through it when wet was just as easy as always and whilst I do have more fly aways at the top by my parting, the ends (from ear lobe down) have more volume whilst still being smooth and sleek.

At the time of writing, no one has commented on my beautiful hair that shines like a million strands of spun golden silk, but I’m sure they will.

As for reverse hair washing, I think this is actually a trend I’ll stick with for a while.

xxx

Leave a Reply

